Andrew MaynardAndrew Maynard
Director, Arizona State University Risk Innovation Lab

Andrew Maynard is Director of the Arizona State University Risk Innovation Lab – a center that promotes transformational thinking about risk, in support of beneficial and responsible innovation. He is a widely-recognized expert on the benefits and risks of emerging technologies, from nanotechnology and gene editing, to artificial intelligence, autonomous vehicles, and technological convergence. He was formerly chair of the World Economic Forum Global Agenda Council on Emerging Technologies, and is currently a member of the WEF Global Future Councils. He also serves on the United Nations Expert Group on Exponential Technological Change. In addition, Dr. Maynard is a member of the Board of Trustees of the International Life Sciences Institute North America, and has previously served on National Academies of Sciences committees addressing science communication and nanotechnology. He has testified before congressional committees on a number of occasions. Dr. Maynard is a well-known public communicator of science and technology. He holds a PhD from the University of Cambridge, UK.

Dr. Mihail (Mike) RocoMihail C. Roco, PhD
National Science Foundation and National Nanotechnology Initiative
Mike Roco is the Senior Advisor for Science and Engineering at the National Science Foundation ( and founding chair of the U.S. National Science and Technology Council's subcommittee on Nanoscale Science, Engineering and Technology (NSET). Prior to joining National Science Foundation, he was professor of mechanical and chemical engineering. Dr. Roco is credited with thirteen inventions, contributed over two hundred articles and twenty books on multiphase systems, computer simulations, laser measurements, nanoparticles and nanosystems, and trends in emerging technologies. Recent volumes include "Convergence of Knowledge, Technology and Society" and "Nanotechnology Research Directions for Societal Needs in 2020". He proposed the National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) on March 11, 1999, at the White House, and is a key architect of the NNI. Dr. Roco is Correspondent Member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences, Honorary Member of the Romanian Academy, and Fellow of the ASME, IoPhysics and AIChE. Dr. Roco is editor-in-chief for the Journal of Nanoparticle Research. He was awarded the National Materials Advancement Award in 2007 "as the individual most responsible for support and investment in nanotechnology by government, industry, and academia worldwide", and received the IUMRS "Global Leadership and Service Award" at the EU Parliament in 2015 for "vision and dedicated leadership ...that has made major impact to all citizens around the world."